Finding Queensborough connections all over the place

The pretty little Anglican Church in Queensborough. Thanks to former resident Ruthanne (Tanner) Deline, I now know that it was called St. Peter’s. Ruthanne and her family attended this church until it closed, at which point they joined the congregation of St. Andrew’s United Church.

One of the best things about doing this blog is that it connects me with people who themselves have a Queensborough connection. Christina Sager is one of those; it was Christina, a Queensborough native who now lives in the Kingston area, who sent me the lovely photo of her grandparents, Allan and Isabella Sager, taken after their wedding at the Manse in 1939. (I posted that photo here, and my post included some speculation by me on the houses you can see in the background of the photo. My great Queensborough friend Elaine Kapusta sent me a nice note this weekend saying that people in the village had been working on identifying those houses and who lived there. I am quite tickled by that.)

Another person who found the blog, while doing family-history research, is Ruthanne Deline (née Tanner), who grew up just west of Queensborough – and whose mother once lived in the Manse! Ruthanne’s grandfather, Rev. William Parker, was the minister at St. Andrew’s. (Though she herself was baptized at the Anglican Church in the village, which her parents attended until it closed.) Ruthanne promises to send a photo of her grandfather, his youngest daughter, and his elderly parents on the front verandah of the Manse, and says it will help me appreciate “how much improved your home now looks!” She also shared happy memories of being in the junior choir at St. Andrew’s when the choir went out Christmas carolling with my father (the minister) and some other parents. And, like me, she remembers being in 4-H homemaking clubs with Isabella Sager as the leader. (You can read her full comment at the end of my post about the Sager wedding at the Manse.)

I just have to say that it is so delightful to discover such “friends of Queensborough.” It seems there are quite a few of them out there!

2 thoughts on “Finding Queensborough connections all over the place

  1. And then you have the readers (such as me…or would that be such as I?) that know nothing about Queensborough, but are learning a fair bit about it by reading your posts, interesting as they are! I’m loving your blog, Katherine, because along with hearing about so many of your childhood memories, they stir up fond memories of my childhood too, and I especially like sharing stories of Raymond, or perhaps our Dad (whom you would have loved) or any of the Brassard clan for that matter! Keep on blogging!! xo

    • Thank you so much, Jeannie! I know I would have loved your father. But then, it sounds like everyone did! I sure wish I could have met him – and I’m so glad I knew your wonderful mother.

Leave a Reply

