Continuing on the midcentury theme…

20120822-202514.jpg

I’ve mentioned several times that I am fond of mid-20th-century style, particularly when it comes to the Manse. That is because midcentury is when I lived there in the sunny days of childhood, and who doesn’t want to hark back to the sunny days of childhood? Besides, midcentury style is cool.

We’ve already acquired some midcentury furniture and accoutrements, and I don’t suppose the search for those kinds of finds at flea markets and yard sales and antique outlets will end anytime soon.

I thought readers might be amused by these two finds that are now parked in the living room at the Manse. The complete series of The Man From U.N.C.L.E. on DVD is actually new; I got a deal on it at amazon.ca a couple of years ago and couldn’t resist. (Note the funky early-’60s-style case that the DVDs are in.) I loved watching that show on our old black-and-white TV in the mid-1960s in the very same room where the DVDs now reside. (I had a crush on Ilya Kuryakin.)

Can you remember what U.N.C.L.E. stood for? Or what the initials were of the global criminal organization that Napoleon Solo and Ilya were valiantly battling in between (in Solo’s case) multiple conquests of shapely women? No Googling! Answers in tomorrow’s post. A Grape Crush each (we have two in the fridge, thanks to our pal Graham Gough’s proving me wrong when I stated in a comment a while back that that vile concoction of my childhood no longer existed) for the first right answers!

And then of course there’s the thing that only Raymond would find and actually buy: a multi-record set (yes, we are talking vinyl here) of the John F. Kennedy-Richard Nixon U.S. presidential debates of 1960. Amazing the things my husband can find in antiques-and-collectibles places. My only question is this: how does it end?

4 thoughts on “Continuing on the midcentury theme…

  1. Grape Crush is the stuff of which dreams are made, and I will not have you disrespecting it. Although I’ve been leaning lately to Fanta grape. Mmmmmmm….You should leave them some of that, Graham. They wouldn’t know what hit them.

    Hey, you could do some heavy duty scratching with that set of vinyl. M.C. Brassard, and all that.

Leave a Reply

