When was the last time you saw this sign?

Sometime in the late 1990s or early 2000s (I’m guessing, but I think that’s about right), whoever’s in charge of signage for Ontario’s provincial parks decided an update was needed. Goodbye, therefore, to signs like this one, replaced with a more “modern” blue-white-green logo, different typeface, the whole shebang. Nothing particularly objectionable, at least to my mind. But regular readers will have figured out by now that I’m a sucker for the way things used to be; so you can imagine how delighted I was the first time I spotted the sign above on a stretch of good old Highway 7 (the Trans-Canada Highway) just east of Sharbot Lake, pointing to Sharbot Lake Provincial Park. What a great reminder of the days (the 1970s) when we liked our colours weird and loud.

Now I look for that sign every time Raymond and I drive to the Manse, and it makes me happy to see it. I am assuming it’s a bit of a mistake that it’s still there, left over from the old days and not replaced by one of the new ones. I just hope the powers that be have the good sense to leave it there.

4 thoughts on “When was the last time you saw this sign?

    • Hahaha! Brenda, let us hope the powers that be at the Ontario Ministry of Transport (not to mention the Ontario Ministry of Provincial Parks, whatever its correct name might be) do not read my blog. (Probably a safe bet.)

  1. Hmmm…not 100% sure, but I do believe one of my brothers (not 100% sure which one so I won’t mention a name) was once in possession of a bright red STOP sign, and I AM 100% sure they don’t sell those in stores. Just sayin’. Get my drift?

    • Ha! I asked Raymond just now if he’d ever been in possession of a bright red stop sign. He hesitated and said: “Who’s asking?” So I’m guessing he was the guilty party. Do you know, as I type this we are heading west on Highway 7 and will be passing by that sign any second. Should we stop? (Just kidding. The sharp-eyed officers at the
      Sharbot Lake detachment of the Ontario Provincial Police would probably nab me in no time.)

Leave a Reply

