Aprons for a good cause

Just try and tell me this apron (called the Madeline, after the mich-loved book by Ludwig Bemelmans) isn't the most beautiful apron you've ever seen! It's a creation of Chickadelic of Stirling, Ont., and it can be yours – if you bid high enough in the auction that benefits the Stirling Public Library. (Photo from facebook.com/sochickadelic)

Just try to tell me this apron (called the Madeline, after the much-loved book by Ludwig Bemelmans) isn’t the most beautiful apron you’ve ever seen! It’s a creation of Chickadelic of Stirling, Ont., and it can be yours – if you bid high enough in the auction that benefits the Stirling Public Library. (Photo from facebook.com/sochickadelic)

I don’t know about you, but what’s got my attention at the moment is the online auction for beautiful, literary-themed aprons – yes, aprons – to raise money to buy books for the Young Adult section at the Stirling Public Library.

Is an apron auction not the coolest idea for a library fundraiser? (And thanks to those – you know who you are! – who drew it to my attention.)

Because, people, old-fashioned aprons – the ones your mother and your grandmother used to wear to keep their dress clean and tidy as they worked in the kitchen – are suddenly cool again. And who was ahead of that curve? My friend Margaret, who last summer presented me with a gorgeous hand-sewn apron (turquoise, and complete with rick-rack!) for use at the Manse. And the Manse is where it proudly hangs, along with another apron, on an Expo 67 theme, that I picked up at some Manse-area yard sale or other several months ago.

Chickadelic's Lucy apron, named for the youngest (and bravest and best) of the four Pevensie children in C.S. Lewis'c classic The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and other Narnia novels.

Chickadelic’s Lucy apron, named for the youngest (and bravest and best) of the four Pevensie children in C.S. Lewis‘s classic The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and the other Narnia novels. (Photo from facebook.com/sochickadelic)

But anyway, to get back to the fundraiser for the library in Stirling (a thriving arts-oriented village about 40 minutes southwest of Queensborough (where the Manse is), and not incidentally the home of Stirling Creamery butter): it is the brainchild of a new outfit called Chickadelic Salvage and Design (“a hen party of chick thrifters and modern crafters who love to celebrate vintage chic”) that will be opening a shop and “creative gathering space” at 34 Mill St. in Stirling on April 6. The Chickadelic folks have come up with 14 aprons, each themed to a well-loved book (Heidi, Anne of Green Gables, The Borrowers, The Secret Garden, etc. – my favourite being the Lucy, in honour of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe) and the whole world is invited to bid on them to raise money for the library. The auction opened at 8 a.m. today and runs through 8 p.m. Friday, March 8. You can read all about it here and bid on Chickadelic’s Facebook page; and what can I say but: it’s a good cause, the aprons are lovely (and useful), so go and bid, people!

And: I am hoping I might get the high bid on the Lucy. But then again, the Madeline is so beautiful… And then there’s the Rebecca… and the Mary Lennox…

4 thoughts on “Aprons for a good cause

  1. Katherine, this is amazing in so many ways! I’ve just put the story onto my Facebook – the auction, and the shop (my new favourite and it hasn’t even opened yet) are so creative and sweet. I just love the book-themed aprons. Must go bid!

    • I do think it’s going to be a wonderful shop, and an excellent addition to a village that is already going great guns. And isn’t the apron auction to benefit the library a fine idea? If my calculations are correct, they’re up to about $300, and there are still five more days to go. For a new business, they are making a very good first impression!

  2. Katherine – I am so glad that you like your apron – I had such fun making it -I would love to see this shop!!-M

    • Margaret, I just LOVE my apron! (And if the folks at Chickadelic were auctioning it off, they could call it the UCW!) I think you and I are going to have to pay a visit to their shop – perhaps when you folks come visit us at the Manse.

Leave a Reply

