My new favourite colour is so three years ago

I was very excited one recent day when, leafing through La Presse (Montreal’s primary French-language newspaper), I came across a story about the colour that the people at Pantone, the world’s ultimate colour arbiters, had deemed to be the “colour of the year” for 2013. What got me excited was the block of colour that this story was printed on, because it was – you guessed it – turquoise! For a brief time I was heartily, if not literally, slapping myself on the back for being so in tune with the colour-trend times – because, as regular readers will know, the Manse has got me all enthused about turquoise. (Why? Because it was the colour our kitchen was painted back in the days when I was growing up there. So not only is it a beautiful, soothing colour, but it brings back happy memories. The video at the top of this post takes us back to the thrilling moment last early spring when my brother John pulled off some of the ghastly “wood” paneling in the kitchen to reveal the turquoise-painted plaster – the first time it had seen the light of day since about 1970. You will hear my goofy shrieks of delight in the background.)

So, yes, there is bound to be much turquoise in our future when we get around to choosing colours for finishes and whatnot in the Manse renovation. But to get back to the La Presse article: I didn’t stay chuffed for long. Yes, the block of colour as it appeared on newsprint looked to be turquoise, but as we all know, colour reproduction on newsprint leaves a lot to be desired. It was intended to be emerald green, and the story went on to say that emerald green is in fact the Pantone colour of the year for 2013. So much for me being in tune with the times when it comes to decor.

Pantone 15-5519, its colour of the year for 2010, and my colour of the year for – well, always.

Pantone 15-5519, its colour of the year for 2010, and my colour of the year for – well, always.

A bit later, however, I found some small vindication in the fact that turquoise has been Pantone’s colour of the year, and not all that long ago: it was chosen it in 2010. So I’m only three years out of step, which I suppose is not all that bad.

Here’s what the Pantone people had to say back when they were celebrating turquoise: “Combining the serene qualities of blue and the invigorating aspects of green, turquoise inspires thoughts of soothing, tropical waters and a comforting escape from the everyday troubles of the world, while at the same time restoring our sense of wellbeing.”

I think that sounds just about right for the Manse. Even if it is three years out of step.

2 thoughts on “My new favourite colour is so three years ago

Leave a Reply

