A confession about my real favourite colour

A happy moment, though why I had to look so goofy about it is beyond me: this photo was taken last February, when the turquoise-painted plaster walls in the kitchen of my Manse childhood had been revealed for the first time in more than 40 years. And the revelation was: turquoise.

A happy moment, though why I had to look so goofy about it is beyond me: this photo was taken last February, when the turquoise-painted plaster walls in the kitchen of my Manse childhood had been revealed for the first time in more than 40 years. And the revelation was: turquoise.

I am happy to report that I, and all my computer-type devices, are back and in the swing of things. Thank God for the Genius Bar at the Apple Store, that’s all I’ve got to say.

Right, so where were we when last we spoke?

Oh yes: I was leading people on about my favourite colour. You nice people all think that turquoise is my favourite colour, and you’ve got a very good reason for thinking that; I’ve gone on and on and on and on about it, all based on the exciting uncovering, a little more than a year ago, of the plaster walls in the Manse kitchen (from under a c.1970 layer of “wood” panelling) and seeing, for the first time since that infamous c.1970 panelling exercise, the colour they were when I was a very young child growing up at the Manse. That colour being, of course, turquoise.

Since then turquoise has become a very important part of my life; I’ve been buying things in that colour (including the case for my beloved iPhone), dreaming of that colour, and planning how to use it in the eventual renovation of the Manse.

So I guess it is my new favourite colour. But it’s not, and never will be, my favourite colour of all time; that colour is: red.

My real favourite colour, very much in evidence at the Manse: bright red truck (Raymond's) and, in the background, bright-red (newly painted by Raymond) oil tank. That's my colour!

My real favourite colour, very much in evidence at the Manse: bright red truck (Raymond’s) and, in the background, bright-red (newly painted by Raymond) oil tank. That’s my colour!

I love and am attracted to anything red, the more fire-engine-red the shade, the better. And in tomorrow’s post, I’ll tell you a little story about the coolest and most gorgeous article of clothing of all time, from my childhood at the Queensborough Manse. It was – of course – bright, bright red.

I guess I don’t think of red when I think about renovating the Manse because red doesn’t seem like quite so much a “decorator” colour as turquoise. One would have to be judicious in its use, non? Accents instead of whole rooms painted red? Or am I wrong?

Or – brainwave! (Or not.) Do you think red and turquoise could coexist? Like, in a room at the Manse?

Hmmm. Maybe not.

10 thoughts on “A confession about my real favourite colour

    • This is great, Lu – thank you! But interesting that in all the photos (which I have studied, believe me!) turquoise is the main colour in the room and red is used for accents. Which, I have to say, looks beautiful. And gives me ideas!

  1. Katherine, red is also my favourite colour, with turquoise hot on its heels. And despite the fact that Winnie accuses me of being colour blind (especially when it comes to buying clothes), I think my world is especially colourful. You see, I have a neurological condition called synesthesia. Ever heard of it? It’s a kind of displacement of the senses in which I “see” numbers, letters, months of the year, days of the week, etc. in specific colours. (Coincidentally enough, the number seven is fire-engine red in my mind, and the month of March is turquoise.) I remember wondering about this “ability” when I was a kid, and one day I asked a friend if he experienced a similar phenomenon. When he reacted by looking at me as though I’d just arrived from Saturn, I decided to keep the subject under wraps. I did just that until only recently, when I learned more about it and that the likes of Vladimir Nabokov, Marilyn Monroe and Leonard Bernstein were also synesthetes. … As for putting red and turquoise together, Katherine, I say go for it. Just don’t tell Winnie I said so.

    • Jim, I can’t even begin to tell you how cool I think that is. I have heard and read about synesthesia (including one article not very long ago; the New York Times, maybe?), and I think it is just so amazing, even as I find it impossible to get my head around the concept. Geez, I wish I’d known that about you when we were both at the Gazette; I would have enjoyed filling in the (rather rare) lulls in our desking shifts picking your brain about what exactly that correlation between colours and other things/concepts “looks” like to you. The human brain is an endlessly fascinating thing, is it not? Next time we meet, expect a grilling!

      And meantime, thank you for the encouragement on the red-and-turquoise front! (And no, I won’t tell Winnie.)

  2. I knew you were going to say red. And yes, red and turqouise co-exist quite happily — although it’s more of a Latin American style. Red is my first love, but now I wear and use the two colours together. As for architectural red, come see my roof!

    • I am feeling more encouraged all the time about this red-and-turquoise thing, Hilary; thank you! And yes, come spring (which will be, inshallah, soon) we would love to come see your red roof!

  3. Now I can relate.. You must stop by and see what it might look like on a wall since my home is a very favorite of a red shade. A lttle darker than a fire engine but maybe you can get an idea. I am sure your rooms are as high as mine. And that added touch of rouge.. just gives it a warm and romantic feeling 😉 But not to forget that torquoise & white has its place like a bathroom 😉 very refreshing!

    • Okay, Marykay, now I just have to see your place! It sounds beautiful – and I am quite certain there are some renovation/decor ideas in there for us. Renovation tips from downtown Queensborough – how perfect is that?

Leave a Reply

