A walk featuring cats. And dogs.

A pretty and friendly blue-eyed cat that was nestled (along with two other more skittish ones, who scampered off) near the old Methodist Church steps.

A pretty and friendly blue-eyed cat that was nestled (along with two other more skittish ones, who scampered off) near the old Methodist Church steps.

The pretty church-steps cat was quite happy to get up close and personal.

The church-steps cat was quite happy to get up close and personal. It was hard to leave it behind and carry on with our walk!

There seem to be a lot of cats in Queensborough. Since I love cats, this is all to the good. It’s rare to go out for a walk in the village without coming across at least one or two cats. This may not be surprising; I know of a few households in the general area that – well, let’s just say they have multiple cats. And you can’t leave all those cats indoors all day long. Not when there’s a quiet little village full of things for a cat to explore! And nearby wooded and wetland areas containing things that cats like to hunt.

Anyway, the walk that Raymond and I took yesterday was a bonanza for cat-spotting. First there were the three we came across lounging in the leaves and underbrush in an area where Queensborough’s Methodist Church once stood. Two of them were startled by us and dashed off, but the third one, a sweet thing with beautiful blue eyes, was very pleased to be picked up and rubbed. So that was an excellent start to the walk.

We spotted another cat watching the world go by at one end of town. But the absolute best was when we jumped in the car for a quick drive along Hunt Club Road. I asked Raymond to stop so I could take a photo of a vintage sign on a barn building, one naming the late Allan Sager, long ago the Sunday School superintendent at St. Andrew’s United Church, a great guy, and one of the subjects of posts here and here. While I was doing that, a regular parade of barn cats came out to say hello! And except for the scarred old tomcat who was feeling protective of his brood, the cats were so friendly and lovely. They swirled around and around my ankles as I tried to pet them and take their picture at the same time. I miss my Montreal cats madly whenever I visit the Manse, so this was sweet indeed.

Super-friendly barn cats, more than happy to soak up some attention.

Super-friendly barn cats, more than happy to soak up some attention.

But this being the countryside, there are also lots of dogs. I quite like dogs, as long as they belong to other people and I don’t have to take them for a walk in foul weather at the crack of dawn. And dogs tend to like me. Dogs like Raymond too, but the feeling isn’t quite as mutual. So when we’re out walking and go past a house that has multiple dogs that start barking, he gets uncomfortable. The dogs we saw and heard on our walk were all well-tied-up, so there were no worries on that front; but for my husband a bunch of dogs in full-throated bark is not a happy sound.

I think a beagle is what Raymond needs at the Manse.

I think a beagle is what Raymond needs at the Manse. For his red truck.

But it’s the country and people do have dogs – for hunting maybe, and for all I know there’s even dogsledding. (Lord knows there has to be something to explain all those dogs.) You have to go with the flow. And I think I know a way to get Raymond to come around and get a little more comfortable with the idea of dogs. It will come in the form of a beagle to be named Kip. And Kip will ride shotgun in Raymond’s red truck!

Raymond will love the idea. And he will love Kip. He just doesn’t know it yet.

16 thoughts on “A walk featuring cats. And dogs.

  1. I think this cat is the “AWAY” cat. I’m developing the storyline as we chat
    … …Katherine was away and then came back
    ……….She brought Raymond with her…………..Elaine was away and then came back with Lud……The cat knows something but………..
    A Comedy … Murder…. Historical Drama?

  2. Thanks for the laugh this morning! Made sure to send this post to my family regarding how the barn cats have made it to the internet! A huge accomplishment for them.

    • Too funny, Christina! But I have to say that they were the sweetest barn cats ever. The little black and white one, little more than a kitten… and so friendly… I was utterly charmed.

      • Wanted to let you know that my parents (who recently became computer literate) are actively following your blog and are thrilled with how enthusiastic you are about each and every topic. If you are going down Hunt Club Rd., sometime stop in to chat with them – I am sure that you will get a story or two out of them!

      • How lovely to hear, Christina! I would be delighted to see your folks again after all these years, and talk Queensborough/Madoc Township with them. Hope to do so soon!

  3. “…a village having too many cats, because I don’t think that’s possible…”

    Is this what you had in mind?


  4. I am Sherry Christna’s sister, probably the one that you baby-sat. My children and husband and myself were happy to see our cats on your post. My siister sent us your article. There are many cats and they areSe all very friendly. Any time you are driving by feel free to stop,

    • Hi Sherry! My goodness, how lovely to hear from the little girl I babysat all those years ago. I have to tell you that your barn cats are absolutely A-1 – the friendliest and nicest I have ever met. (Okay, the tom is a bit grumpy, but that’s his job.) We would love to stop by for a visit, and will do so one of these times – and I hope you will do the same if you’re passing by the Manse and see that we are there!

Leave a Reply

