Is the Fisher-Price Garage the best toy ever?

The Fisher-Price Garage, late-1960s edition. Best toy ever. I have been seeking one out for years, and was thrilled to find one at a yard sale this weekend. Now if I just had the little cars and drivers…

The Fisher-Price Garage, late-1960s edition. Best toy ever. I have been seeking one out for years, and was thrilled to find one at a yard sale this weekend. Now if I just had the little cars and drivers…

This long weekend – the first of the almost-assured good spring/summer weather of the year – saw an absolute bonanza of yard sales in Hastings County. In the village of Madoc, in fact, there was an event called “The Whole Darn Town of Madoc Yard Sale,” and it lived up to its name. Raymond and I love yard sales, and we must have stopped at close to a dozen in Madoc and environs.

Best find? The Fisher-Price Garage, of course!

Is there anyone below the age of 55 who didn’t grow up with a Fisher-Price Garage? And were they not the best toy ever? That elevator that could move the cars up and down from the ground to the third floor, dinging at every level; the rotator that could circle cars around on the top-floor parking lot; the stop signs that went up and down as the elevator passed each floor; and of course the ramp that the cars could zoom back down once they were finished parking. It made for endless hours of fun!

When my siblings and I were growing up at the Manse, the Fisher-Price Garage was my brothers’ toy (though my sister and I enjoyed playing with it too); it was the 1960s, after all, and Barbies were for girls and trucks and garages were for boys. So I never had a Fisher-Price Garage of my own.

And I always wanted one. Not one of the new ones; have you seen them? Click here if you haven’t, and you tell me: does that look like the Fisher-Price Garage of your childhood? Of course it doesn’t! Not my cup of tea at all. I bet it’s not yours either.

Ah, but the vintage Fisher-Price Garage that I spotted at a yard sale along Frankford Road between Stirling and Frankford: that was the one! And now it is mine. Well, ours – though I don’t think Raymond gets quite as much a kick out of it as I do.

Mind you, it came without the little wooden men and the cars. But I have great confidence that another yard sale will turn those up soon enough. Will my life then be complete? Well, that might be a bit of an exaggeration. But let’s put it this way: any little kids who visit the Manse will be in heaven.

2 thoughts on “Is the Fisher-Price Garage the best toy ever?

  1. That WAS awesome. But don’t leave out the FP Schoolhouse, Barn (I think I broke the moo-ing mechanism that worked when you opened and closed the door – I LOVED that sound), Castle, and Western Town. I also desperately wanted the A frame house.

    • Okay, Nicole, clearly you have far more experience with the wonderful world of Fisher-Price than I do! Now I am going to have to look into these exotic things you mention, the Schoolhouse and so on. I am quite sure we never had any of those, but I do have a very distant memory of a mooing barn door. Perhaps a Fisher-Price was the treasured toy of kids in another family that we visited once upon a time…

Leave a Reply

