I promised myself a herb garden.

Meet our new herb garden at the Manse: clockwise from top left, Italian parsley, rosemary, oregano and tarragon. And there's lots of room for the others still to come.

Meet our new herb garden at the Manse: clockwise from top left, Italian parsley, rosemary, oregano and tarragon. And there’s lots of room for the others still to come.

I promised myself a herb garden at the Manse, way back at the beginning of the spring of 2012; my post about it (and sundry other garden dreams) is here. And now I have one! And while I am fully aware that in the overall scheme of the universe this is not exactly a very big deal, it gives me satisfaction to have actually created this little herb garden myself, and to know that there will be fresh parsley – and sage, and rosemary and thyme (and other herbs too) when Raymond and I want them for making dinner when in Queensborough.

The herb garden before it was the herb garden: a neglected (but sunny, which is great for herbs) patch of ground toward the rear of the Manse.

The herb garden before it was the herb garden: a neglected (but sunny, which is great for herbs) patch of ground toward the rear of the Manse.

The only thing is that the herb selection in our garden is not very broad or deep at the moment. Last weekend we went looking for herbs to buy and plant at various greenhouses in the MadocTweed area, and I am sorry to report that the results were a tad disappointing. Is there little demand for herbs in the area? Or were we just too late in the herb-buying season? At any rate, the best place we found was the garden centre at the Tweed Valu-Mart, where we found tarragon, rosemary, Italian parsley and oregano. And the next day we found some curly parsley in Coe Hill (another post, still to come). But I guess for rustling up the chervil, thyme, sage and maybe basil and marjoram that we still need, we’ll have to rely on the splendid Jean Talon Market here in Montreal, which is easily enough done.

And then we will have a herb garden to beat the band. Which, by the way, I can see and watch growing when I look out the window of our little pantry kitchen at the Manse: the herb garden that I promised myself.

And for those who might have caught the vintage song I was alluding to when I wrote the title of this post… let’s have a look at Lynn Anderson and some crazy early-1970s dancing kids. You’re welcome.

8 thoughts on “I promised myself a herb garden.

  1. I think you may have left it a bit late to get best selection. Stone Path on Quin-mo-lac Road had a good selection, but by early June everything is picked over everywhere! Stonepath’s prices are more reasonable than Valu-Mart, plants may be a bit smaller but quickly catch up. Where is your basil? just toss in a few dill seeds 🙂

    • You’re absolutely right – we did leave it too late, although with the wretched cold and wet weather I didn’t really feel like planting anything. Plus we were not able to be in the area for several weekends in a row in prime plant-buying time. I thought Stonepath was really nice, and also the greenhouse place on Highway 7 just east of Madoc (whose name I forget), but we just got there too late for the herbs. But I’ll rustle ’em up in Montreal over the next few days, and the Manse herb garden will be complete!

  2. I try to get my herbs by the 24th of May – selection does indeed dwindle after that. Stonepath Gardens on Quin-Mo-Lac Road usually has a good selection in May including the sometimes hard to find French Tarragon. Marjoram, oregano, sage, chives and thyme should winter over and come back next spring. You could call Richter’s Greenhouses (#62 north of Foxboro (613) 477-1934 ) and Farmgate Gardens ((613) 967-1581) Frankford Rd. to see what they have left.

    • You have made my day with news that some of my herbs will come back again next year! I have been growing herbs in pots for so long that I had forgotten about that possibility. (We don’t get enough sunlight in our Montreal house for the herbs in pots to last through the winter – and in fact it’s a struggle even to make them do well outdoors in the summer on our mostly shaded back deck.) I love plants that come up in the spring without me doing anything to make it happen! And thank you for the tips on the plant places a bit to the south of us. We are slowly building up a big file of good local (Hastings County) addresses for all manner of things, and those two will go into it!

  3. Also – Sometimes vendors at the Marmora Farmers market (beside the tourist centre) and the Belleville Farmer’s market (off Pinnacle St. near Dundas) have herb plants for sale at this time of year.

  4. Oh, I have some sad news: some of my bunnies escaped, hopped across town and ate up your garden. C’est la vie…

Leave a Reply

