A rocking horse for Henry

20130907-185710.jpg

Does this photo by any chance bring you a shock of recognition? That’s what I got when I came across this vintage rocking horse at the Stratford Antique Warehouse. I believe my very young self (and my younger siblings) had one just like it once upon a time, when we were growing up at the Manse in Queensborough. (Perhaps it was available through the Eaton’s catalogue. Or maybe the Green Stamps catalogue?) Anyway, it was a simple, wonderful (and quiet) toy then, and it strikes me that it still is. Which is why, when Raymond’s still-very-new grandson, Henry, comes to visit the Manse sometime down the road, he will be able to rock to his heart’s content. And it will do my nostalgic heart good to watch him.

Leave a Reply

