This sideboard can be yours for the low, low price of – free!

large sideboard

I hate having my picture taken, but Raymond made me get up on the sideboard (it’s yours if you’ll take it away!) to demonstrate just how big it is. It would be a sizeable presence in any kitchen or dining room – but I’d rather it not be in ours. Note lovely decorative drawer pulls! The mirror! Whatever that bronze shiny stuff is on the middle cabinets…

Well, I have finally ventured into the world of Kijiji. Why? Because we have a bit of a monstrosity of a piece of furniture at the Manse, and I am hoping that the words “FREE IF YOU’LL TAKE IT AWAY” on Kijiji will encourage someone to take it off our hands. It’s a great big extra-long sideboard-type deal that was in the Manse when we bought it – I gather left behind by the previous occupant (the minister) because it was too big for him to move. I’d say it’s from the late 1970s or early 1980s, which means it’s too late to qualify as midcentury funky; my best description of it would be “post-midcentury hideous.” But to each his or her own.

It’s served a purpose for the year-and-three-quarters that we’ve owned the Manse, in that it’s been a handy place to toss keys, yard-sale finds, garbage-bag tags for the dump, gloves and hats, spare change, etc. etc. etc. when we walk in the front door. But on our visit last week I took the bull by the horns and cleared all that stuff off, washed the beast down – and today put an ad on Kijiji basically saying “Take my sideboard – please!”

The ad is here – minus the photo of me, of course, But if you’d like to beat the Kijiji hordes, please just let us know. Remember: all you have to do is take it away!

6 thoughts on “This sideboard can be yours for the low, low price of – free!

    • Oh dear – I suppose you may well be right, Dom, though if you had seen it in person you might not have felt that way. It was all shiny so would have required a massive sanding job to get it ready for painting. Far easier to give it away to someone who actually wanted it!

Leave a Reply

