Raymond, retired, is enjoying the local auctions

20131017-180052.jpg

Some of us here at the Manse in Queensborough have to go to work every day. (That would be me. And don’t get me wrong; I quite like going to work.)

But others of us (Raymond) are newly retired, as regular readers will know. And that means that a day at the Manse could, for people like that, include a pleasant drive down to southwestern Hastings County and an auction sale in the village of Frankford. And acquiring the stuff in the photo above for a good price: the pressback chair was not dead cheap ($30), but the smallish and very nice rugs went for the princely sum of $1 for four of them (perfect for the guest bedrooms). And do you see the record album? People, it is Jeannie C. Riley’s Greatest Hits! Harper Valley P.T.A. and… um… were there any hits after that? But anyway, that album is in the photo as a representative of the two boxes of classic country records that Raymond also got for a dollar. Man, there is some great stuff in there! (Probably material for another post.) Tons of Loretta Lynn albums, and Lynn Anderson (“I Never Promised You a Rose Garden”), and Tammy Wynette, Marty Robbins, Glen Campbell… a bit of a gold mine, really.

And he also got this cabinet, which we both think is very nice:

20131017-181957.jpg

It is funky and potentially quite useful, and when we find a home (and a use) for it in the Manse, I will be sure to show you.

But anyway, all in all not a bad day’s “work” for Raymond. Though I hope you note my quotation marks. If that’s work, then I’d love to have that job!

28 thoughts on “Raymond, retired, is enjoying the local auctions

  1. Looking forward for that “work”. This type of job Raymond has, has really good fringe benefits. 😉 love the chair!

    • I agree! Though on the downside of that “job” – you end up spending money instead of earning it… But then again, after many long decades of hard work, I guess it’s only right to be able to have some fun spending the money you long ago earned. Especially if you get some bargains at the auction!

    • I think we might have a Led Zep album or two (notably Led Zeppelin IV) among our vinyl collection, Jill, never fear! But for sure that auction find was all about country, and I mean vintage country. Pretty classic, in its own way.

    • Hahahahaha! Every now and again I do see a box of 8-tracks at auctions or garage sales, and am reminded all over again about what HORRIBLE technology that was. Do you remember how it would change tracks in mid-song?

      • I believe that the sequence of songs on an 8-track was supposed replicate that on the LP. Each side of an LP was twice the length of one of the four 8-track channels but that was not taken into account when the songs were arranged since LPs were the primary form factor for music distribution.

        Until reversible cassette players became available for vehicles, the 8-track was the more convenient & safer form factor.

        I don’t have an 8-track player in any of my vehicles [not even in my ’78 Pacer] but do have a functional one in the house! Alas, it’s tough getting contemporary recordings for it…

      • No, there are still many Pacers out there. While received derisively [eg, goldfish bowl on wheels, Jetsonmobile, jellybean car] in the ’70s by many, including me, they were actually a solid vehicle from that era, although a bit too hot in the summer due to the expansive glass area. At one point, I had three of them but sold two to a Picton resident who used both to create a $13,000 restored vehicle.

        Now, try to find a Gremlin…since they did not have a durable body, they are almost non-existent.

  2. I’m thinking that we could designate Raymond as a buying agent. We could send in our requests [since we are occupied with employment] and Raymond can scour the auction sales on our behalf

  3. When did you retire Ray. With all this auctioning you’ll need to do what I did open a used book and collectible emporium. Be careful with large items. Furniture is a poor seller and that cabinet you bought looks like art nouveau met art deco. A 30’s piece with a lot of moxy for sure. Happy hunting.

    • Hey Gordon, Raymond retired (probably about while you and Ewa were enjoying Venice) on Aug. 30, 30 years after he began at The Gaz. Don’t think he hasn’t been inspired by your wonderful Brockville emporium – Queensborough could use such a thing!

  4. I have taken a few auction sales in myself over the last month. Not something I normally do. I have got some good tools for my workshop and lumber. I wasn’t planning on buying the lumber. It turned out a better deal then I thought when I had the winning bid. I also bought 21 files all different sizes. Some used and some new for $8.00. I know I paid more then that for one new. But with 21 files it might be lifetime supply. It looks like Raymond has pick up some really nice items too. The chair looks like the chairs I would have sat in at Wally Kincaid when visiting with my grandparents.

    • It’s amazing what bargains one can sometimes get at auctions, but of course each one is different. Yesterday Raymond went to one down in Prince Edward County (where there are lots of people with money) and he reported that the prices were pretty much out of reach. But on to Mr. Kincaid: would you have been visiting him at his house beside the Manse, Greg? My memories of him are so remote – just that he was a very nice and very quiet man.

      • Yes it amazing the bargains you can get. I think sometimes people don’t care what the price is. They are going home with the item they are bidding on. Yes I did visit Wally at his house beside the manse. I have been to his place many times. Sometimes he would help Grandpa at the farm. You are right he was very nice and quiet man. Always had tea and cookies when we were visiting him. He had many stories to tell. I do miss hearing the stories from the older people who are now gone.

      • “”…the stories from the older people who are now gone…”

        The sad truth is that many of us are now becoming the “older people”. Sigh. Now if only the young(er) people would listen to our stories…without snickering or rolling their eyes

      • Interesting and perceptive comment, Graham. I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you’re right. But cut the younger folks a bit of slack; we did a lot of our own eye-rolling at the “old folks” and their stories of the olden days back in our youth! It is just human nature.

      • You’re so right about the importance of the stories that the older generations have to tell us, Greg. Just think what we could have learned about long-ago Queensborough days if anyone had ever interviewed and recorded Wallace Kincaid. But then again, he probably wouldn’t have liked that. Your grandmother is now one of the irreplaceable sources for Queensborough history, and I hope to sit down with her one of these times and talk to her about her memories.

  5. You are right. You would have learned alot from Wally and you might be right about him not wanting to be recorded. I can’t say for sure as I never knew him that well. I sure Grandma would love to sit with you and tell you the history of Queensborough. Not too long ago she told me about her and Grandpa’s trip out west in 1967. The reason for this story as I had worked in Saskatchewan last year and I was in Alberta this year til September. I am sure you will enjoy your talk with her.

    • It’s a good excuse for me to pay her a long-overdue visit, Greg. She is one of the last of a generation that remembers how things were here in the ’30s, ’40s, ’50s and ’60s. The good old days, as I like to call them!

  6. What bargains! $30 for the chair is a good price. There is a place in Belleville where the seller has six similar chairs for $545 for the set (so, roughly $90 each). I love the cabinet!

    • Thanks! I think Raymond did very well at that auction. The pressback chair is a little over-refinished for my taste, but it’s still very nice. And the cabinet is great! It is now the official bar cabinet (glasses and whatnot) of the Manse. I am hoping it looks suitably Mad Men, though I think it’s a little too old (i.e pre-’60s) for that.

  7. Ah, too bad retired sister and brother don’t live near to each other. What fun I would have riding around with Raymond in his red truck, searching for bargains. Wishful thinking…

Leave a Reply

