Thank you, thank you, thank you for your comments!

speech-bubble

People, you will never know how much I appreciate and enjoy the comments you share in response to my posts here at Meanwhile, at the Manse. There have been so many in the last few days especially that I am having to give over all of what would normally be my new-post-writing time tonight just to answering them all – because I do endeavour to answer each one. Hey, if you folks are kind enough to take the time to send in your thoughts (and often share your knowledge), the very least I can do is respond!

I am thrilled and humbled by the amazing stories I have heard, and the fascinating information that I have picked up, thanks to readers’ comments – on topics far too numerous to mention, but including (to mention just a very few) Queensborough and the Great War, retailers in Madoc in the 1960s, the Old Hastings Road, crokinole, euchre, whether dial phones still work, the old-fashioned way of making maple syrup, Joni Mitchell, the Rock Acres Peace Festival, the blacksmiths of Queensborough, midcentury modern furniture – and of course Freshie, the drink mix that we all grew up on. Oh yes, and (how could I forget?) the complexities of getting the internet in rural Ontario.

And there have been so many more!

I hope and trust that you folks enjoy reading the comments as least as much as I do. Lord knows that in general my readers are far more knowledgeable than I. I am just so pleased that this blog, conjured up on a bit of a whim out of thin air, seems to have become a meeting place for people who share interests that include Queensborough and area, all things midcentury, the history of Hastings County, turquoise – and the list goes on and on. I hope you’ll continue popping in to visit, and sharing your memories and your stories. It’s so much fun not knowing what might turn up next!

2 thoughts on “Thank you, thank you, thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

