The year in which we plunged into a new life at the Manse

Rockies Road, December 2013

Rockies Road, December 2013. I loved discovering the old hay mower, topped with snow, on that beautiful bright winter day. A little piece of Queensborough history.

My final post of the year 2012 was all about how it had been a memorable year because Raymond and I had bought the Manse and begun to discover Hastings County (or in my case rediscover it, since I’d grown up there) on our visits to Queensborough. Ha! Little did I know then that by the time another year had rolled around, Raymond and I would actually be living at the Manse, with Raymond happily retired and me working at a new job.

A lot can happen in a year! (Wait – haven’t I said that before? Ah yes – here.)

While 2013 has had some pretty big challenges, I have to say that it has ended up very well indeed. We live in a beautiful place – as you can see from the photo atop this post, which I took just the other day during a drive along Rockies Road (just northeast of Queensborough). We belong to a small but vibrant congregation at St. Andrew’s United Church. We have wonderful friends and neighbours in Queensborough and area, people who have been incredibly kind and helpful and welcoming and hospitable. Our cat Sieste has adapted beautifully to Manse life.

And thanks to Meanwhile, at the Manse, we have met (in some cases face to face, in others through the wonders of the internet) a community of people who have taken an interest in our Manse adventure, and have offered encouragement and tips and food for thought. Readers, thank you so much!

On this New Year’s Eve 2013, I feel blessed.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2014 for all of us – and more adventures at the Manse!

13 thoughts on “The year in which we plunged into a new life at the Manse

  1. I don’t read you as often as I’d like but I’d be remiss if I didn’t thank you for your wonderful reflections in 2013.
    Best wishes to you in 2014 and beyond .

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Happy New Year to you and Raymond from Gayle and I. Thank you for helping to look at our area with a renewed sense of appreciation. P.S. Thanks for the rice

  3. Happy new year Katherine and Raymond !
    Maman a bien reçu votre carte de vœu, nous sommes tous très heureux de voir que tout va bien pour vous.
    Une petite question :
    pourras-tu écrire ton blog en français? c’est difficile pour nous !!
    à très bientôt !
    Laurence Pohu

    • Bonne année, Laurence (et Didier et les enfants)! Quel plaisir de te trouver ici! Malheureusement, si j’ai essayé d’écrire ce blogue en français, il me prendrais des heures pour un seul article… Et de plus je n’aurais pas mon éditrice d’autrefois, mon amie Laurence!

  4. Happy New Year, Katherine. I’ve certainly enjoyed reading all about your life at the manse. I’m looking forward to what’s to come in 2014!

  5. Happy New Year Katherine and Raymond. Enjoy reading your blog about the activities .about my old home town,Looking forward to 2014.

Leave a Reply

