Finding Cora Patterson, or: you readers are the best

Patterson Family 1951

Do you perchance remember the photo I posted a few days ago of a young minister’s family – mum, dad, two small children – outside the Manse, in about 1943? (See below if you don’t.) Thanks to a reader, I now have this slightly more recent (1951) photo of that family, the Pattersons, taken when they had moved from Queensborough to Noranda, Que. The family had grown by two children in the intervening years. I thank Grant for the photos (and for starting an interesting conversation here about the family). And I thank several readers for being able to track down the first name of that minister’s wife! (Photo courtesy of Grant Ketcheson)

I’ve said it before and I know I’ll say it again: you readers are absolutely wonderful.

I never cease to be amazed at how much I learn from the comments you post here, and I am thrilled that, thanks to your sharing of knowledge and photos and memories, Meanwhile, at the Manse seems to have become a bit of a resource for Queensborough history and information. (Not to mention home-renovation information, wood-stove information, snowblower information, Freshie information, and the list goes on and on.)

You readers and the information you share go a very long way toward making Meanwhile, at the Manse what it is. You give me ideas, you answer my questions, and you start me down interesting paths that I otherwise might very well never have explored.

The Rev. W.W. Patterson and family at the Manse, Queensborough

Thanks to readers, I now know that the name of the woman in this picture, the wife of The Rev. W.W. Patterson and mum of Barbara and John (and two more children who came a bit later, as you can see from the photo at the top of this post), is: Cora. Thank you, readers!

I have been especially reminded of how helpful and generous readers are in the days since I did a post about family of The Rev. W.W. Patterson, who lived here at the Manse when he was the minister at St. Andrew’s United Church from 1941 to 1945. Thanks to one reader – see, it all starts with the readers! – I had a most interesting photo of the young Patterson family taken on the south lawn of the Manse. My post was basically about comparing the way the house looked then with how it does now, but I also asked for help with the first name of Mrs. Patterson, because that was one bit of information that I did not have.

Well! Did you folks ever come through!

There were comments on the blog, and private emails, and just last night a phone call, all steering me toward her name. Several of you had contacted other people to verify your information or to try to find out the name; some had made a whole bunch of phone calls to get to the bottom of it.

(And, by the way, in sharing with me the names of those contacted, you have given me some great new contacts of my own for Queensborough history).

The long and the short of it is that Mrs. Patterson’s name was Cora. Which I think is a beautiful name, and I am delighted to know it and to share it.

But I am even more delighted with how willing you good people are to help out on a historical quest like that, with how generous you are with your time and your knowledge.

You are just so kind. And you make this Manse adventure so much more fun!

One thought on “Finding Cora Patterson, or: you readers are the best

Leave a Reply

