Glads – why not?

Glad bulbs

This colourful display at the Madoc Foodland has got me thinking about trying to grow gladioli.

I came across a happy sight at the entry to the Madoc Foodland grocery store this afternoon: a display of bulbs to plant. What especially caught my attention was the colourful boxes of gladioli bulbs. And I thought: glads – why not?

When I was young I wasn’t crazy about glads, and I think I know why: it was because they tended to be one of the flowers used in floral displays at funerals, and our Manse was the final resting place for many a funeral display. I guess if there were flowers nobody wanted once the funeral was over, the thinking was to give them to the minister’s family – which would have been mine. I imagine the really nice displays were the ones already spoken for, so the ones we got were, to be honest, generally not all that wonderful. And I believe glads were in the mix.

But as an adult, far removed from those low-end funereal displays, I came to appreciate how much a bunch of glads could brighten up a room, especially if displayed in a simple and elegant clear glass vase. And they come in such beautiful colours!

Where glads could go

Wouldn’t some glads brighten up the exterior wall of our back porch?

But it had never in my life, until today, crossed my mind that I might be able to grow glads. But why not? They would look great somewhere on the Manse grounds – perhaps against the white wooden wall of the summer kitchen/back porch (our future conservatory). And bunches of cut glads (in simple clear glass vases, of course) would look lovely inside the Manse.

Okay, next question, from the woman who has close to zero gardening skills: are glads hard to grow?

6 thoughts on “Glads – why not?

  1. They’re not hard to grow, though you should dig up the grass and enrich the soil (peat moss and sheep manure) before you plant them. The problem with glads is you have to take the corms (bulbs) in each winter, or buy new ones the next year. I much prefer to plant things that stay where they are year after year – daffodils (the red squirrels and chipmunks got all my tulips the first year), peonies, bee balm, echinacea – etc.

    • Interesting – and here I thought that anything that was a bulb could be left in the ground and would come up year after year. Shows how much I have to learn… perhaps I should join a local garden club!

  2. Hi Katherine,

    Glads are lovely, that’s for sure. There is a farmer over in Prince Edward County who sells them at a vegetable stand in Bloomfield, on the way to the Sandbanks. I’ve never seen so many colours as what this person has — all shades, including variegated. I’ve never grown them though, but I’ve found this site which has information about soil requirements, etc.

    http://www.gardeners.com/The-Basics-Gladiolus/7128,default,pg.html

    Have you considered asters? They would be beautiful at the Manse, as would zinnias, black-eyed Susan.

    http://www.canadiangardening.com/plants/perennials/discover-the-star-power-of-asters/a/1281

    And, here is an article about planning a garden. Maybe there might be some helpful tips here, too. Yes, it’s getting to that time when we’re thinking of seeing colour once again. I’m anxiously waiting to see my first crocus or snowdrop.

    http://www.canadiangardening.com/gardens/specialty-gardens/plan-and-plant-a-cutting-garden/a/21939

Leave a Reply

