Doesn’t every household need a Cyclone egg scale?

Harvest Gold stove

Here once again is our newly repaired Harvest Gold stove. But do you know what the object to its right, on the windowsill, is?

If you happened to read my post last night – about the inexpensive repair that gave the Manse’s 35-plus-year-old Harvest Gold stove several more years of life – you might have noticed a funny-looking object in my photo. It was near the stove, on the windowsill of the tiny pantry that currently serves as the Manse’s kitchen. Did you by any chance wonder what odd thing Katherine and Raymond had found now to put in the Manse?

Well, now I’ll tell you what it was. It was an egg scale. Did you guess?

Here’s the closeup photo of the object in question:

Egg scale

I’ve mentioned lots of times how much Raymond and I like to check out antiques barns, flea markets and yard sales in search of vintage treasures. We found this egg scale in one of those antiques barns, and we just couldn’t resist it. Because, you know, it’s not just any egg scale; this, people, is a Cyclone! Made by the Cyclone Mfg. Co. of Urbana, Indiana, maker of “Modernized Poultry Supplies”! In other words: this is the Nimbus 2000 of egg scales!

Here’s the mysterious thing, though: was our egg scale intended for industrial, commercial or household use?

I can see an egg-producing company needing something to confirm that all the eggs in a given carton are the size they’re supposed to be, but this little one-egg-at-a-time scale seems rather rinky-dink for that.

On the other hand, why would a housewife (I’m sorry, but it was surely all about housewives in the era when this scale was produced) need to check the size of an egg once she’d brought it home from the store? Presumably it would have been sold to her as being of such-and-such a size?

Which makes me wonder whether the gizmo would have been used by small merchants who might buy a whole bunch of unsorted eggs wholesale – perhaps even from local producers – and would need to check the size before selling them, which perhaps they sometimes did in ones and twos as opposed to the standard dozen we buy them in today.

But really I just don’t know. What I do know is that our vintage egg scale makes us smile and is a good conversation piece. Which means it totally belongs right here at the Manse.

6 thoughts on “Doesn’t every household need a Cyclone egg scale?

  1. Hi Katherine,

    When you posted about your beautiful Harvest Gold stove not working, I was sad to think that it might be finding its way out of your house. Last night, I was glad to read that the stove has been repaired and that it has many more years of service to offer. It’s in pristine condition — nary a ding or scratch from what I can see.

    When I was looking at the stove, I checked the object on the windowsill, but I didn’t make out the lettering, but I’m glad to find out what this is: another very interesting vintage piece.

    Can you please tell me where you got the turquoise timer on top of the range, and what is the round object to its right?

    Speaking of timers and eggs, I have a chicken timer. I think they can be found in almost any housewares shop. When the time is up, it clucks. (Just joking!)

    • My grandmother had her own chicken farm
      And sold the eggs to the grading station. She used these scales to separate her eggs into size as well as a candle to ensure the eggs were not spotted. This way she had a lasting contract with the egg station. I remember helping her wash and grade the eggs so that they were perfectly clean, no blood spots and just the right size. She also had double yolks and goose eggs. I loved my grandma and her eggs. The blood spotted eggs were used at home of course, taking out the spots and making many Chiffon pies.
      Nancy Lou

      • Oh wow, Nancy Lou, what a wonderful story and what wonderful memories! And that makes perfect sense: that an egg scale like ours would have been used by small egg producers like your grandmother. And chiffon pies: yum!

    • Ah, Sash, you notice every detail! The turquoise timer on the top of the newly rejuvenated Harvest Gold stove came from a now-closed antique shop in Stirling. I absolutely love it, except for one thing: It doesn’t work! (Despite the assurance the shopkeeper gave me that it did.) The round turquoise/blue object to its right is another timer, vintage-style but in fact new, given me by Raymond’s daughter Dominique. And it is infinitely superior to the other one, because it does work – and we use it all the time.

  2. Does your egg scale work? Have you tested it? From now on I am bringing all my eggs over to The Manse and weighing them. I am sure Foodland is up to no good and skulduggery with their eggs. 😉

    It’s lovely!

    • It does indeed, Jan! When we first got it we used to amuse ourselves no end testing out the eggs we’d bought at our local supermarket in Montreal: “Are they really extra large?” (Well, yes, they always were. The egg manufacturers seem to have that sorted out.) But we felt it was good to have it – just in case, you know! And hey, if you ever have suspicions about the size of the eggs in your fridge, you just come right over and test ’em out at the Manse!

Leave a Reply

