Overnight dandelions. And mushrooms. Things grow so fast!

Mushroom crop 2014

Quite the collection of mushrooms, wouldn’t you say? But here’s the crazy thing: these mushrooms appeared from out of nowhere overnight – and I am not making this up.

“Well,” I said to Raymond one evening this past week as we returned home to the Manse from a stroll: “It seems we don’t have a mushroom crop this year.”

(Because last year we had a mushroom crop on the Manse’s front lawn right where the big old maple tree used to stand in my childhood here – the mushrooms emanating, no doubt, from the fungus-y roots of the remains of that old maple after its stump had been cut down and removed.)

Ha! Guess what showed up the very next morning? Of course you have guessed it: a new mushroom crop! Overnight! How does that happen?

And in other overnight news: this past Friday late afternoon/early evening I finished the last bit of raking up of winter leaves and debris from our yard. My final section was the northwest corner of the back yard, and I covered it completely, despite the distraction of being surrounded by a cloud of blackflies for the entire time. So when I was finished, about 7 p.m., I was pretty familiar with that patch of ground. Next morning, about 7 a.m., what do I see? In that same place? Why, a whole bunch of healthily blooming dandelions, where none had existed a mere 12 hours before:

The overnight dandelions

The dandelions that showed up Saturday morning, where none had existed on Friday night.

This spring thing is amazing. When I watch the perennials in our flower garden, it’s like time-lapse photography without the time lapse; they are growing before our eyes. But even by those standards, the overnight crop of mushrooms and dandelions was amazing.

You know, what with the interesting things that go on with the plants and the birds, I am pretty sure I could get used to this rural-living thing.

6 thoughts on “Overnight dandelions. And mushrooms. Things grow so fast!

  1. Hi Katherine,

    Speaking of things growing, when you were at Emmanuel, did you ever notice the tiny blue flowers that carpeted the lawn across the road (at the Flavelle House law building, U of T)? Every year at this time, the lawn is covered with thousands of these tiny blue flowers, not as high as a Lily-of-the-Valley. I think they’re known as Siberian Squill. There are also lilac bushes on the same property, and I always look forward to seeing those there, too.

    Yes, it’s that time of the year when every day brings a new bit of colour, something else to discover. I’ve been enjoying my favourite, the narcissus, but now the tulips are opening, too. Will we see the trees fully covered with their leaves for the Victoria Day weekend (or, as we used to call it, “May 24th weekend”)?

    As for the blackflies … yep. I remember them when I lived in Madoc. Bites galore.

    • I don’t remember those flowers from the U of T campus particularly, Sash, but when I searched for images of Siberian Squill online, I instantly recognized them! I don’t think I’ve seen them for many a year, but they are very much a sign of spring. Hey, remember Dutchman’s Breeches?

      Have to laugh about “May 24th weekend”! Yeah, that’s what I still call it, and the fact that this year the May 24th weekend is not the holiday is throwing me for a total loop.

      • We’re getting rain here in the city, and I can hear thunder rumbling. I swear the leaves on the trees have popped since this morning. You must be noticing a difference with every day, too.

        I’ve never seen squill outside the city, but it has to be plentiful in other areas, too. That particular lawn across from Emmanuel (right at the top of the park, as one goes around and over to Hoskins Avenue) is loaded with the squill. They’re doing a major renovation at the law library, so there is all kinds of construction work taking place. Frankly, they’re making a huge mess, but they’ve spared the lawns. However, a few years ago, when they re-built the southern entrance to Philosopher’s Walk, it meant removing many beautiful lilac bushes. Speaking of lilacs in the area, on Charles St. W. (at the field behind Annesley Hall), there were tons of gorgeous, dark purple lilac bushes. Well, thanks to another building project, they’ve ripped out all of those bushes, which I miss very much.

        I don’t recall the Dutchman’s Breeches, and I’ve checked online and don’t think I’ve noticed them anywhere. I’ve read, though, that they are a toxic plant and people should watch that their pets don’t get at them.

        Yeah, May 24th weekend! I still call it that, too, and I even set up one of my cabinets with a themed tribute. I have a Doulton “Toby jug” of Queen Victoria, and some other interesting pieces that I’ll bring out.

      • I was so upset when I saw the bushes had been taken up, especially when they were that very deep dark colour of bloom. I can’t remember what is going up there, maybe another residence tower. Maybe you’ll recall some old houses on Charles W. (dilapidated). Well, they’re all down, and there are new towers in their place. I pity the poor people who paid a fortune (very expensive) for the suites just east of University College. Little did they know at the time when they bought that the residence on St. Mary Street (immediately south of them) would soon apply for City permission to build on top of the shorter building. So that means the expensive condo units that face south will look into another tower, only a few metres away. Everywhere I look, there are cranes. Oh, and the tennis court beside Annesley — long gone. The Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Arts is there. And the tennis courts beside St. Basil’s Church (St. Michael’s College) are gone — more towers going up.

        And to think that they couldn’t have left some of the lilac bushes as they were. I guess it was a matter of trucks needing unrestricted access to the site.

      • Good lord, I would never recognize the old college neighbourhood! While I never played on them, I remember those tennis courts fondly. Such a civilized thing to have in the middle of a university campus. And they were well-used. Sad to think that they’re gone.

Leave a Reply

