You gotta stop and look at the wildflowers along the way

WIldflowers, Queensborough Road

My picture doesn’t really do them justice, but the wildflowers along Queensborough Road (this was taken between the McKinnon and the Harris farms) are absolutely beautiful.

One wildflower, Queensborough Road

Here’s one of the purple wildflowers that first caught my eye. I’ve no idea of its name, but it sure is pretty.

It’s so easy to take for granted the beautiful things in the world around us. The past few days, as I’ve been making my usual drive to and from work, I’ve suddenly taken notice of the beauty of the wildflowers growing so abundantly by the side of Queensborough Road. It was the purple-mauve ones that first caught my eye; but when I slowed down to get a better look at them, I realized that there were also yellow flowers and white flowers, and all of them together in the long roadside grass were just so, so lovely. And they’d doubtless been lovely for days and weeks as the spring had advanced and turned into summer; but only just now had I taken notice of them.

Really, Katherine, like the old Mac Davis song says, you have to get into the habit of stopping and smelling the roses along the way a little bit more often.

But hey, speaking of songs, and wildflowers – and because it’s Friday night, when a little bit of music is called for – here are two very pretty songs, and both of them are titled Wildflowers.

The first is by Dolly Parton, and the only thing I’ll warn you about this video is to persevere past the first 45 seconds or so of the goofy intro (featuring Rich Little – remember him?). Once Dolly gets singing, it’s gorgeous:

And here’s a rough-around-the-edges (because it’s shot by someone in the audience) of Tom Petty performing his very pretty song called Wildflowers. (You can hear the recorded version here, but I kind of like the live take):

And I just think that these two delightful songs should remind us all to look around us at, as the old hymn says, “the beauties of the earth.” Even, and perhaps especially, something as simple as the wildflowers.

18 thoughts on “You gotta stop and look at the wildflowers along the way

  1. Well, let’s see what I had as a kid — Complete Works of Shakespeare, The Iliad of Homer, The Grapes of Wrath, Chaucer, Beowulf, War and Peace, and so on. Of course, I jest.

    However, I remember reading the Hardy Boys, Dave Dawson [a fictional WW2 air ace], Tom Swift Jr [a space adventurer] in my early teens and a series about anthropomorphized animals such as a fieldmouse at an earlier age [I forget the titles. Sigh]

  2. The series about the anthropomorphized animals you are recalling was likely some or all of the several series written by Thornton W. Burgess. They were written during the first few decades of the 20th century, and they continued to be popular at least into the 1960s. I know that at least some of them were still in print in the early 1990s when I bought several as a gift for the children of close friends.

    I read all the Burgess books as a child and absolutely loved them.

    • I loved those books too, John! We had a bunch of them when I was a kid at the Manse, starting with Chatterer the Red Squirrel and Sammy Jay. I will never forget how my heart was in my mouth as I waited to find out whether Grandfather Frog would escape the deep water-hole he’d somehow got himself into. You’ll be unsurprised to learn that I’ve got a pretty decent-sized collection of those Thornton W. Burgess books going once again at the Manse!

      • Burgess was a carry-over from earlier writers who wrote sympathetically about animals, and who imbued them with many complicated human-like characteristics. This earlier perspective on animals set off the huge “nature faker” debate, an event that took on serious political overtones. On one side you had people like Charles Roberts, Ernest Seton and William Long (all with Canadian connections) facing off vs. John Burroughs and Theodore Roosevelt, who decried the way these writers portrayed animals in the wild. The president went so far as to publically ridicule these writers and have some of their books pulled from the classrooms in the U.S.. !!

        If you are a Canadian, you *MUST* learn about this debate.

  3. Now, for a response to the actual post…Ironically, just a few days earlier, I too noticed an unusual abundance of wild flowers along the roads: daisies, (including the occasional black-eyed susans), red clover, buttercups, blue thistles, some small purple flowers, etc. [I also noticed in late May the profusion of lilacs: https://atthemanse.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/waves-of-lilacs-in-an-unforgiving-land.%5D Could this be a real phenomenon or a product of selective attention? WRT the former, perhaps the wet winter last Summer & Autumn was a factor. or the wicked winter. Or a product of both factors. WRT the latter, selective attention merely focuses one’s attention in a biased fashion what is actually a normal event [just like when one buys a new car, s/he suddenly notices how many of that model are on the roads]: so, this blog may have primed our attention…In my case, I may be noticing the more aethetics of life following the release from my caregivers duties the past few years.

  4. Further to roadside wildflowers and milkweed in particular, we noticed today that, once again, Madoc Township has seen fit to spray the roadside with chemical herbicides. Next time you drive down Cooper road you will see the results wherever there are barriers alongside. What happened to the ban on spraying?

  5. Purple wildflowers – possibly Maries Balloon Flower (Platycodon grandiflorus mariesii), though not native to North America.

Leave a Reply

