On the eve of Dominion Day, fireworks – and fireflies

Domion Day EveAs you’ll see from this picture of the flag flying from the front porch of the Manse tonight, Raymond and I are anticipating tomorrow, July 1 – Dominion Day, as I like to call it. Evidently some of our neighbours here in Queensborough are too, because they put on a nice little fireworks display just a few minutes ago. When I went out to take a picture of our flag, that nostalgic scent of post-fireworks smoke was in the air.

I love fireworks!

But there’s another thing that lights up a summer night that I love even more, and that is fireflies. I remember how magical it seemed to me as a kid, seeing them on a summer evening here at the Manse or up at the family farm in Haliburton County, where we always spent July in those days. I think the reason they seem so magical is because they are so ephemeral: now you see them, now you don’t. Or at least, you don’t see them in the place where you saw them just a second before; you may instead see them a few inches or feet away. It is delightful to watch.

I’d been thinking about fireflies in the past few days, after coming across a random reference to them in a book. What I was thinking was how many years it had been since I’d seen one, doubtless due to my urban-living habits over the past few decades. I’d been wishing I might see some fireflies one of these evenings in quiet, dark little Queensborough.

And tonight I did! On a brief walk through the village, I saw a mysterious, brief bright light, and wondered for a half-second what it might have been. And then there was another, and another. They didn’t last long, but they were most definitely there.

And so my wish was fulfilled. Something else to celebrate on Dominion Day!

4 thoughts on “On the eve of Dominion Day, fireworks – and fireflies

  1. Happy Dominion Day, Katherine. I’ve just heard the big guns being fired at Queen’s Park for the salute and there were fireworks last night, with more to happen tonight.

    Fireflies! I haven’t seen them in ages; really, it’s been since the 60s. I always loved seeing them, so you’re quite lucky to have them near you.

    In case you haven’t read this, here are 147 reasons to love Canada, from today’s Globe & Mail:

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/147-reasons-to-love-canada/article19372494/?page=all

    • And a happy Dominion Day to you too, Sash! I enjoyed that Globe and Mail list – happy to see that butter tarts were on it! (As, I imagine, were you.) As for the fireflies, I hadn’t realized till I found that link to them that I used in the post that they have become much scarcer than they were when you and I were young. Another beautiful, endangered thing…

  2. “How magical it seemed to me as a kid.”
    Love that phrase. You touched on a very wonderful childhood memory Katherine for me. I can still hear and see the faces of my dad and grandmother telling me how to catch a firefly. My grandmother would give me a very large glass pickle jar and told me to put grass and wild flowers in the bottom. She would poke holes in the top lid and then said go catch some fireflies. So there I was my brothers and sister out in the long grass at dusk just waiting to see a flicker of a firefly. And we did catch them into the jar they would go. Once they were captured we would seal the lid and watch how they would light up our jars. Of course we were only allowed to keep them a short while but then release them to the wild again. The next night we would do the same thing all over again. Which also brings a fun memory while Jos’s father was visiting us one summer from Holland and the fire flies were traveling around our deck in the long grass he said “hey what is that?” And we laughed and told him they were fireflies. He said we were positively crazy.. lol They don’t have fireflies in Holland at least he had never seen one. Now to travel around with my grandsons, so if you happen to come by don’t think we are crazy with glass jars in our hands. I love fireflies too and all the fireworks that come with them. Happy Canada Day 🙂 Raymond and Katherine. From our house to yours.

    • Happy Canada Day to your household too, mk! And thank you so much for sharing your memories of capturing (briefly) fireflies in jars with holes punched in the lid – that in turn brought back childhood memories to me. I’m glad we can still see fireflies, which apparently increasingly scarce, in Queensborough and environs!

Leave a Reply

