It is Monkees Night at the Manse

Okay, so you know how my post yesterday was all about the great, funky vintage things that I did not buy when I found them at an excellent antiques emporium a few weeks ago? Well, people, tonight I want to tell you about one find that I made at that same Maine antiques warehouse that I do now have, thanks to my wonderful husband, Raymond.

Not to put too fine a point on it, it is: the first four Monkees albums. On vinyl. In terrific condition. I am not making this up.

I had spotted, and coveted, those albums – The Monkees, More of The Monkees, The Monkees Headquarters, and the kookily named (hey, it was the ’60s, or should I say the Age of Aquarius) Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones Ltd. – on our first visit to the antiques warehouse. But the price tag ($49) held me back. Nevertheless, I did take a photo:

Monkees albums for sale

And I did mention them to Raymond. And I kept thinking about them. And lo and behold, when Raymond made a return visit to the emporium to purchase something he had spotted and had been thinking about (a giant clam steamer, if you must know), he came back with a lovely gift for me: those Monkees albums!

Now, you must realize that this is especially meaningful because Raymond has never had much use for the Monkees, considering them an artificial made-for-TV band. Of course I keep telling him he is wrong – this is not the Partridge Family we’re talking about here, for crying out loud – and, given the way his toe taps when I put on Monkees songs, I think he is kind of coming around. Which might explain why he bought those albums.

And here they are, right here at the Manse (with the top of Sieste the cat‘s head in the photo for good measure):

Monkees albums with Sieste

Anyway, tonight for the first time I unbundled the four of them and have been listening to them. (Because we do have a record player!) And you know what? They only reconfirm my notion that the Monkees were pretty great. There are some fantastic songs in there that are way off the well-worn I’m A Believer path, such as Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow), the video that’s at the top of this post and that I hope you’ve already enjoyed to get yourself into the Monkees groove. And also (as another example, among many), She Hangs Out:

And: What Am I Doing Hangin’ Round:

And also The Door Into Summer, which is kind of a masterpiece:

Of course there are also some oddities like, say, Your Auntie Grizelda and Zilch. But overall there is good songwriting (albeit largely not by the Monkees, I realize), good musicianship, and good singing. And catchiness. And a nice general sense of happiness.

Hey hey, what’s not to love about the Monkees? And speaking of which, how about that great song (on the album The Monkees Headquarters) called For Pete’s Sake, which closed each episode? Here, let me take you back. And: you’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “It is Monkees Night at the Manse

  1. I love the Monkees! When I was a child, before we had a television, my big sister used to come home from babysitting and tell us all about this new show called “The Monkees”. I loved hearing about their antics, since I had an imaginary friend at the time who was a chimpanzee.(I have no idea why.) I somehow failed to realize that my sister was talking about humans. How disappointing it was when I finally was able to see the show for myself! But it wasn’t long before I was dancing and singing along with the music. They sure had a number of very beautiful songs….

    • Karen, I have to tell you that I think it’s very cool that you love the Monkees, but even cooler that as a kid you had an imaginary friend who was a chimpanzee. I’m one of those people who never had imaginary friends, and I am in awe of the people who had (have?) the imagination to have them! (And hey, if they also happen to love Monkees songs, so much the better!)

Leave a Reply

