Possibly the most beautiful turquoise thing I have ever seen

Beautiful turquoise bench

Would you not agree that this turquoise bench (with accompanying table) is pretty much the most amazing thing ever? The question is, however: does it belong at the Manse?

So there I was the other evening, minding my own business and watching The Good Wife, when a text from my brother John burbled into my phone.

“I thought of you,” John wrote next to the photo that you see atop this post. “Absolutely amazing.”

Actually, he also told me at what antiques emporium he had found that incredible piece of furniture being offered for sale. But you know what? I am not going to share that information with the world, for fear that someone might buy it before I make up my mind whether I should.

People, is it not the most gorgeous thing ever?

Especially for a person such as myself who loves turquoise? And also loves midcentury modern style?

The asking price is well beyond my budget. And even though prices on stuff in antique emporiums are often negotiable, I am fairly sure the final offer would still be beyond my budget.

But never have I feared suffering non-buyer’s remorse as much as I do with this piece. I have this awful feeling that if I don’t dip into the cash reserves (pitiful though they are) and scoop it up, I will regret it for the rest of my life.

What would you do, my friends?

Manse kitchen

Can you picture the turquoise bench in this (as-yet very unrenovated) kitchen? I’m not sure if I can or not. It might set off the Harvest Gold colour of the clothes dryer, though…

Of course there is the question of where Raymond and I would actually put the beautiful turquoise bench and its table. I can’t quite decide whether it’s a suitable piece for the Manse kitchen. Really I had pictured a more traditional table and chairs in that kitchen, if there was to be an eating area at all. (Since we also have a dining room, there’s no pressing need for an eating area in the kitchen.) If we had the world’s biggest breakfast nook (John tells me the piece is a little over six feet long with the L sticking out about three feet) it would be perfect there, but sadly, much as I think the world of breakfast nooks, I don’t think one is in our renovation plans.

Maybe the future conservatory? It would be a funky choice for a conservatory, would it not?

Ah, it’s fun to dream. I’ll keep you posted. It’s possible Raymond’s little red truck has a mission ahead of it.

8 thoughts on “Possibly the most beautiful turquoise thing I have ever seen

  1. Go for it Katherine. if not in your kitchen I can see this as a worktable in your office or library. I love that color as well. if fact my bridesmaids were dressed in it. If you let it go, you will regret it!
    Nancy Lou

  2. Yes Katherine, go for it! As for funding it, you and Raymond can give it to each other Christmas. BTW, the Globe and Mail today has a piece on shopping for antiques. The subhead says “Go with your gut, take your time and don’t be afraid to negotiate.” Good luck!

  3. I don’t know if this would work for you, but I think I would make an offer on it that was at or near the top of my budget, even if that’s substantially lower than the asking price. If they accepted it I would be overjoyed. If they didn’t accept it I could walk away knowing it was not meant to be. It is a pretty fabulous breakfast nook!

    • Catri, that is the best advice I’ve had in a while, and Raymond and I are going to try it. A way of maybe getting that great piece at a price we can (sort of) afford – and if not, knowing that we did our best and it was not meant to be. Thank you so much!

  4. j’ai hâte de savoir la suite !! l’avez vous acheté ou pas finalement ? moi je trouve cette banquette très très jolie !!! à bientôt !

Leave a Reply

