Raymond’s kind of Elzevir

Rue Elzevir 1

This is the 18th-century building on rue Elzevir in Paris where there’s an apartment for sale for a mere €1,295,00 (about $1.8 million Canadian). It’s a little different from our Elzevir, but I’m pretty sure Raymond would love it.

Queensborough, our home for this past year (and also my childhood home) is located in the township of Elzevir, as I’ve mentioned many times before. (And if you want to read some speculation on why this rocky part of Hastings County ended up with that unusual name, you can go here.) Today when I was looking through one of the latest entries on a Paris-based blog that I really like, called Messy Nessy Chic, I was intrigued to come up with another Elzevir reference: a street in Paris where there’s a pretty nice old house – or actually, apartment – for sale.

Messy Nessy Chic is the brainchild of a woman named Vanessa (Nessy for short) who, as far as I can gather, is an anglophone living in, and loving, Paris. She writes about lots of cool things having to do with that most wonderful of cities, and with France; but she also likes, and posts about, many other interesting things, like a temporary hotel in an airplane, and tiny houses, and unusual places, and vintage trailers, and things she found on the internet.

Anyway, today she did a post (it’s here) in which she gives ordinary non-rich people like you and me (and her) a glimpse into how the other half lives in Paris: she showed 10 amazing places that are being offered for sale through the Christie’s website. And one of them is on rue Elzevir! Which, despite having visited Paris several times, I had never heard of before. It is, I have now learned, in the Third Arrondissement, in the Marais, and it’s close to the Musée Picasso and the Musée Carnavalet, both of which I have visited more than once. Without realizing how close I was to Elzevir!

You can see the full listing for the rue Elzevir apartment here; and here’s just one of the photos, showing a bedroom with a classic Parisian view out of gorgeous French windows (and also, not incidentally, a pretty amazing vintage dresser, but I don’t suppose it‘s for sale):

Rue Elzevir 2

A bedroom on the rue Elzevir. I love that dresser! But even without it, I’d love to wake up here.

Now, as I’ve mentioned before, France is one of the places Raymond and I love most in the world; we went there on our honeymoon, in fact. Raymond has often said, dreamily and wistfully, how much he’d love to have a pied-à-terre in Paris. Just a little one, mind you…

So what do you think, people? Should we snap up this one on the rue Elzevir, so we can have a foot in two Elzevirs?

Ah, a person can dream…

4 thoughts on “Raymond’s kind of Elzevir

  1. Those who know me know that I have a gypsy gene, Katherine, so, except that I fantasize about dream properties in the UK, this post is right up my alley. Go for it! And, for your leisurely days gazing out on that lovely courtyard, may I suggest a tasty loaf of crusty bread and a good bottle of wine to go with your favourite cheeses sent over from Maple Dale, Ivanhoe and Empire?

  2. why not put your place for rent and when some one takes over your place for a few weeks you could have your dream stay in paris? would recommend looking at vrbo on internet and then type in Paris…..vrbo stands for vacation rental by owner….i know a number of people who have used it with great success. great for dreaming!

    • Oh wow, Richard, do I ever owe you for this tip! I have just spent a fabulous quarter-hour browsing through VRBO’s rentals in the heart of Paris, trying not to drool. Very encouraging, too, to hear that you know people who’ve used the service and liked it. What a find! Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

