Too many books, too little space: another solution

Bed of books

Fun idea, but I have to admit I hope it doesn’t come to this as Raymond and I try to find space at the Manse for all our books!

In a post a couple of days ago, I was musing about the possibility of using the Manse’s substantial hallway space as a place to put bookshelves and, by extension, books. Of course I didn’t fail to mention, for the umpteenth time, that Raymond and I have a lot of books. Finding a way to get all of those books out of boxes and into places here at the Manse where they’ll look nice and are arranged so we can find a volume when we want it (often not the case now) is one of our big challenges.

Our friend Hilary is quite aware of our books situation (note that I am avoiding using the phrase “books problem”), having visited us at the Manse a couple of times. She is also sympathetic, being a person who owns a lot of books herself. And thus she is apparently always on the lookout for possible solutions, including inventive and amusing ones.

And really, you have to like the one she found that you can see in the photo at the top of this post. Hilary found it on the Facebook page of an author called M.J. Rose, and sent it along with the message, “When you run out of hallway space…”

Yikes! I hope it doesn’t come to that. Please don’t let it come to that. I mean, I’ve already considered the chair of books in a post here, and here’s the photo:

Bibliochaise and hassock

And we already had a tree of books one Christmas at the Manse:

book tree

But a bed of books? It seems a little much. A bit uncomfortable-looking, for one thing.

However, thanks to Hilary pointing me in the direction of M.J. Rose’s page, I found another overload-of-books idea/photo that I quite like for the Manse:

Walk-in library

What do you think, people? Makes sense to me.

4 thoughts on “Too many books, too little space: another solution

  1. I have a solution. It is one that I used. Sit down and look at your books and decide which ones you will never look at again, which ones you have looked at over the last year and which ones you need for reference and to read. Keep the third group and give away the rest or sell them. Worked for me and now I only have one messy room. I hope you’re not offended but it works.
    NL

    • I totally believe you that it works, Nancy Lou – but I’m not sure I’m ready to part with any of the books just yet! At least not until I get them all out of boxes and can look at them properly!

Leave a Reply

