Can you help me find missing Song #7?

I’m sure many of you know that I like to feature musically themed posts on Friday night, kind of in keeping with the weekend-is-here spirit. Tonight I’m going to combine some musical touches with a bit of a mystery that I’m hoping you might be able to help me unravel.

Here’s the thing: on a Friday night back in January 2014, I also did a musically themed post (which you can find here), this one featuring my picks for the Top 20 Ubiquitous Pop Songs from the years (1964 to 1975) when I was growing up here at the Manse in Queensborough. I’ve always been rather fond of that post, and I believe some others were too; in fact I have it on good authority that Raymond’s little grandson Henry and his parents spent a happy evening dancing around their kitchen in the Eastern Townships of Quebec to my musical picks from the past.

Now, I should explain again, as I did in that original post, that my Top 20 picks were very much my own and not based on any musical charts from those years or anything official like that. They are the songs that run around in my head whenever I think back to the era of my childhood and early youth. And since I spent much more time listening to pop music in my early-teen years than I did when I was a little kid, the list skews very heavily toward the early 1970s – when I would have heard a lot of those songs on the jukebox in the cafeteria at Centre Hastings Secondary School in Madoc. Hence you won’t find the Rolling Stones’ Satisfaction, from 1965, or Knights in White Satin, from 1967, or anything at all from the Beatles. Hey, it’s my blog, and I can have the songs I want!

Okay, so here’s the mystery. We fast-forward about a year from the time I published that list. For some reason I happen to click on the post – only to discover that the video of one of the songs in my Top 20 list has disappeared without a trace from YouTube. Right there between Olivia Newton-John’s If You Love Me, Let Me Know at #8 and Terry Jacks’s Seasons in the Sun at #6 was only this at #7:

Missing video

Which, if you clicked on the Play button, brought you only this:

This video does not exist.

And the worst of it was, I hadn’t included the name of the song, or the band/singer, in my text. And I can’t remember now, more than a year later, what on earth that song was.

What could it have been, people?

Well, I’d like to hear your suggestions. I have a few of my own for you, which will serve the equally useful purpose of bringing you still more pop-music memories from the early 1970s, whether you want those memories or not.

One possibility, of course, is the song you will hear if you click on the video at the top of this post. Many songs by The Carpenters were pretty inescapable in those years, but that one perhaps more than most. (And I don’t know about you, but I will never tire of listening to Karen Carpenter’s incredibly rich and perfect voice.)

Here are some other possibilities, some a little more far-fetched than others:

The very ubiquitous Band on the Run by Paul McCartney and Wings:

The inescapably happy Good Morning Starshine, from the musical Hair, sung by the one-name-wonder Oliver:

The gorgeously, gothically weird Ode to Billie Joe by Bobbie Gentry:

And then this, which I am quite certain was not my Song #7, and in fact was not even on my list, but in retrospect should definitely have been at or near the top of it. And of course it remained inescapable for many a year, especially at the close of high-school dances:

So what do you think, people? What might missing Song #7 be? One of the above? What other suggestions would you like to send in? Come on, it’s Friday night: time to kick back and think about bustles in hedgerows. And whatnot.

2 thoughts on “Can you help me find missing Song #7?

    • Oh man, I love the groovy slow-motion shirt-ruffle waviness! You’ll find this hard to believe, but somehow or other Crimson and Clover escaped my notice utterly back in my youth. I think it was a tiny bit before my music-listening time. What a great song, though!

Leave a Reply

