A colourful sign of spring, down by the riverside

Bright chairs beside the Black RiverOkay, so maybe this evening it doesn’t feel that much like spring, what with the damp and the grey and the wind, and a 50-per-cent chance of snow in the forecast for tomorrow afternoon. But then again, an awful lot of snow has melted in recent days (revealing an awful lot of mud), and really one can’t help but feel that the prospects for the bulbs one planted last fall actually coming up out of the ground are not that bad.

And here’s another sign of spring, at least here in Queensborough: Graham’s colourful lawn chairs!

Do you see them there, on the far bank of the Black River, in my photo taken from the heart of downtown Queensborough? Our friend Graham has got quite a few Adirondack chairs in a rainbow of colours, pink and white and yellow and green and so on. (I suspect the ones you can see here are not the full extent of the collection.) Here’s a closeup for you:Closeup of the riverside chairs

Graham of course uses the chairs to sit in and admire the view of the far side of the river on pleasant days, and in that respect they are useful to him and his guests. But what I – and, I am sure, many other Queensborough residents – appreciate about his setup is not so much the usefulness of the chairs as the nice splash of colour they bring to the landscape.

The fact that the chairs are now out is a surefire made-in-Queensborough sign that the good weather cannot be far away.

3 thoughts on “A colourful sign of spring, down by the riverside

  1. On Monday, I wrote an entry on my F/B page [“TheeGreatGazoo”] about capping off a wonderful day by sitting in those chairs at around 6 pm. Although the ambient temperature was close to freezing, the sun was warm, creating a sublime moment. Alas, bringing out the chairs so early seems to be wishful thinking as this may be one of the colder Springs in living memory

  2. Maybe it comes from growing up on the shores of Georgian Bay, but I always knew those colourful wooden lawn chairs with the fan-shaped backs as Muskoka chairs. It was only after I moved to Montreal that I learned that people also call them Adirondack chairs. (I was also surprised to learn that people here refer to eavestroughs as “gutters.”) There’s nothing wrong with saying “Adirondack chairs” and “gutters”, of course, but I think I’ll stick with the Canadian versions of those terms that I grew up with. “Adirondack chairs” and “gutters” sound foreign. This is my quixotic effort to resist the steamroller of American culture that is relentlessly paving over regional distinctiveness. … That said, where is the best place to buy some of those lovely chairs? My back deck could use a few.

    • Whatever one calls them, Jim, I think those chairs are just the best for relaxing in on a sunny summer afternoon. They are so deep that you sink right down, and are uninclined to get up again; and there’s room on one broad arm for your book when you do get up (or the book you’ll open when you’ve finished the first one), and on the other broad arm for the hot or cold beverage of your choice. Heaven! Oddly, even though my family comes from Haliburton County, right next door to Muskoka, I have always called those chairs Adirondack chairs; I wonder why that is. But certainly I’m aware of the Muskoka moniker, and I know that Loblaws had a nice and inexpensive version of Muskoka chairs under the President’s Choice label a while back (though since discontinued, if my internet search is to be believed). Hey, how about a Quebec retail solution? Here are some from Rona!

Leave a Reply

