The general stores down’t street

This is Bobbie's store (as it is today) …

… and this, across the street (and also as it is today), is McMurray's.

In 1964 when we Sedgwicks arrived in Queensborough in Dad’s 1956 Chevrolet Bel-Air, the little hamlet had two general stores. They were Bobbie’s and McMurray’s, and they were across the road from each other in the centre of town. (Okay, “town” in quotation marks.) Or one could more accurately say they were “down’t street,” because that’s what everybody did say. It meant the two stores (which constituted Queensborough’s downtown) were anywhere from a couple of doors to a few hundred yards to maybe a quarter of a mile away from wherever you happened to be in the Greater Queensborough Area.

In my nighttime dreams I am often back in one or the other of those two stores. It is the present day, but they are still operating, offering the tiny community a place to buy useful things like bread and milk without a person having to drive 20 minutes in one direction to Madoc or a little farther in another direction to Tweed.

Alas, that’s only in my dreams. McMurray’s closed while we still lived there, so sometime before 1975; Bobbie’s stayed open for a fair number of years afterward, but in the end the proprietress, an extraordinary woman named Bobbie Ramsay (née Sager), the unofficial – or actually, kind of official – “mayor” of Queensborough, took a well-earned retirement and shuttered it, too. There is much more to be said about Bobbie, and I will; sometime, if y’all are lucky, I’ll recount the story of her elopement at what I’d guess would be the age of 45 or 50.

Both Bobbie’s and McMurray’s were classic general stores, offering everything under the sun. Canned goods. Milk and butter and eggs. Cereal and other packaged foods. Cigarettes and cheap cigars. Work clothes. Rubber boots and work boots. Ice-cream cones and ice-cream bars and ice-cream sodas. Books and stationery. A few fresh fruits and vegetables, but as I recall they were always pretty wilty and the bananas were brown. I think there were meats, but I don’t recall the details. The soft-drink cooler (one of those monster floor affairs filled with refrigerated water; you lifted the lid on one side or the other and pulled out your glass bottle of “pop,” which you then proceeded to open on the built-in bottle-opener) was almost the centrepiece of each place, and highly popular.

Yes, there were meats. I’ve just remembered Bobbie wrapping a roast or something in butcher’s reddish-pink paper, tying it up with string that she pulled down from an immense spool that was attached somewhere overhead. A good contraption, that.

And I remember her toting up the price of the groceries without benefit of an adding machine of any sort, writing the prices down and doing the calculations with a pencil on the top of the Special K box.

For us kids, the lure of both stores was the candy counter. I remember very fondly the penny gumball machine at Bobbie’s, and the five-cent packages of sponge toffee, and the rows of chocolate bars and Life Savers. But really, for candy McMurray’s was the place to go. They (Clayt and Blanche McMurray) had the most gorgeous old candy counters, wooden but with glass fronts and glass tops, so little kids could peer in at all the sweet awesomeness inside. They had a lot of two-for-a-penny candies: wintergreens and blackballs and so on; you could get a nice full little paper bag for a nickel or a dime. And candy necklaces! And licorish (which my Toronto-bred mother always insisted we call licorISS).

But the very best thing about Bobbie’s and McMurray’s was that they were the gathering places for the whole area. If I remember right, Bobbie’s at one point was open late (till 9 p.m.? 10?) on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, and it’s quite possible that McMurray’s did the same on the other days. (Needless to say, neither was open on Sunday. Who ever heard of such a thing?) But what happened at night when the store was open wasn’t much in the way of grocery-buying; it was community-gathering. There were two long benches in the middle of Bobbie’s store (and I’m sure there must have been benches at McMurray’s too, though I can’t quite picture where they were), and on them of an evening would gather the couples and the singles of the community to shoot the breeze, trade the gossip, smoke (if they were men), and watch and comment on any little kid (like yours truly) who might venture in to fetch a quart of milk or buy a pack of gum. Oh man, it was walking the gantlet going through those two benchloads full of regulars to get to the counter and buy something from Bobbie, who presided over the whole scene. It was terrifying! Not that the benchfolk were saying nasty things or anything; I’m sure it was quite the opposite. But they were the denizens, the regulars, and anyone who ventured in was fair game for comment.

There was always a stove burning, throwing off lots of heat. And people gathered. And a place to buy what you needed at all hours.

The ultimate community centre.

In my daytime dreams, one or the other (both is probably too much ever to hope for) of the two old general-store buildings has at least a little partial section open, where coffee from thermoses of Tim Horton’s (fetched from Madoc or Tweed), and newspapers, and bread and milk and eggs, and locally grown vegetables, and (wonder of wonders) some bottles of red and white wine from nearby Prince Edward County, and maybe beer from Church Key Brewing in not-far-away Petherick’s Corners – all are available for sale, and with them, for free, the latest news from whoever’s gathered around about the goings-on in the community.

A return to the good old days of very local commerce and community, in other words.

18 thoughts on “The general stores down’t street

  1. As a little girl venturing into Bobbie’s store I too was struck by the seemingly long walk to the counter where Bobbie would stand, her broad frame an imposing figure. She would usually be talking to some local man in a flannel shirt, work pants and cap (can you please do a post on the “fashion” of Queensborough!?). It would be a game to try and sneak up without drawing attention, but it was impossible. Bobbie was quick and after 2 steps into the store you could hear her voice calling out, asking you what you were doing. She would also always announce who your parents were to the other patrons in the store. Then if you were polite you would get a candy, she favoured Reese’s peanut butter cups I believe. Love your blog. Mary Kapusta

    • Thank you so much, Mary! You describe A Child’s Visit to Bobbie’s perfectly. Yes, I recall that Bobbie was very kind about treating kids to a candy of some sort. Queensborough fashion: now there’s an idea. Especially in hunting season!

      Are you still doing your food blog? If so, please share the link!

      • And it’s true: Bobbie would always make sure everyone knew you were there, even though you tried to skitter in under the invisibility cloak. Gnashing of teeth, wringing of hands, face beet-red….Just give me my frigging Fun-Dip and get me outta here…

  2. I am thrilled with these writings Katherine! I grew up in the Queensborough store and my family has worked happily and relentlessly to maintain the unique personality of the architecture. This house/store is alive with history and character. In my heart it is a personification of opportunity and adventure. It is, in many facets, my muse. Thank you for your literary voice! I look forward to many more posts! I also write about Queensborough as it is my utopia as well. http://www.sara-hailstone.blogspot.com I look forward to meeting you in person, one day!

  3. Still thoroughly enjoying your posts…they bring me back to my childhood as well, at least the penny candy stories did. Of course that also shows my age. Looking forward to future posts. It was great to see you last weekend!!

    Your favorite Brother-in-Law (or so I like to think)…Karen says hello as well.

  4. This sounds like it was a great place to visit, full of everything. Did the general store sell licorISH pipes and cigars, with the red ends? I always loved them, and the plugs, too. I saw them at a shop in St. Lawrence Market in Toronto a while ago, and that was the first time I’d seen them since I was a kid.

    It’s sad that these general stores (and general stores, in general) aren’t operating any more. It would been so handy, to have a place where one could get an ice cream cone or a “drumstick” on a hot, summer day — and also, to get the basic necessities.

    Do you remember the store over in Rednersville? Supposedly, it was the oldest one in Ontario and it closed a few years ago. It was always an interesting sight, with its bushels of cabbages and apples on the step. And, I remember a store near Tweed (in a little area called Sulphide) that was owned by Mrs. Armstrong. Long gone — it closed when the mine closed around 1965.

    • Oh yes, Sash, of course McMurray’s had the licorish pipes with the red stuff on the end! Good lord, is there anything you don’t remember from our midcentury youth? Now, as for the Rednersville store – I am pretty sure I was never there, unfortunately. Rednersville is in Prince Edward County, and that was kind of far afield for my family in Queensborough; when we went “abroad,” it was generally north to the family farm up in Haliburton County.

      • If you’re ever out for a drive in the Belleville area, do take a spin over to the Rednersvile Road. It’s just across from the bridge in Belleville, turning right (west) at Rossmore. There are lovely estates and old Victorian houses there, beautiful farms, and a couple of churches. The old general store is worth seeing. At least, it was when I was last there, even though it’s closed. There was an attempt to turn it into a tea room, but I don’t think it lasted too long. When it was a store, it was very inviting, with the bushels of fruit on the front step, pumpkins, etc.

        Queensborough was very lucky to have two general stores, and it sounds like they had almost anything you needed. It’s a shame they still don’t operate. Maybe this is where Raymond would open his shop and bring in the NY Times Sunday paper?? Oh, I loved those licorish pipes. I also remember the others you mention, and most of those are still available, but who knows where? I’ve seen them at Domino’s in the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto. Apart from that, I can’t remember seeing them apart from the Madoc area.

        • Selling the Sunday New York Times in Queensborough – brilliant, Sash! Why, if it were the only place in the whole of Hastings County (which my research this week suggests it would be) to have the Sunday Times, people would come from miles around to pick it up, and see Queensborough, and maybe buy some used books… and some old-fashioned candy… and locally made maple syrup… and in summer, local vegetables… and maybe home baking… and the work of local artists… and here I go, dreaming again…

  5. They were great little stores as i drove bread truck [wonder bread] and stopped both stores. As i was then late teen.

  6. Bread was 18 cents a loaf and also had nickel bags of potato chips, From HAWKINS CHEEZIES, Cakes, pie,s cookies, tarts, 29 cents to 49 cents. the money makers, lol People @ Rock Acres Festival, would flag me down after leaving store and buy everything on truck, Mon, Thu, Sat Was delivery days, A few years ago but good old days.

  7. Pingback: Something’s happening here – QBAC

  8. Wallace Kincaid the friendly bachelor was my relative. His mother was Julia Annie Martin who married William Wallace Kincaid. She was known as Annie Kincaid and was a sister of my great grandfather George Wesley Martin. Francis Martin and his wife Sarah Ann Freeman , my gg grandparents were early inhabitants of Queensboro. I started my research about 10 years ago. If possible, could you send me a photo of the Kincaid House. I spoke with Jean Tokley a few years ago and the white house at that time was still standing.

    • Hello, Bonny – great to hear from you! I am sending you by email a lovely photo of the Kincaid House taken by my friend and fellow Queensborough resident Dave deLang. If you have other Queensborough information or photos you could share, I’d love to hear from you again!

Leave a comment